2 Years with Ubuntu

This post is long overdue. It should have been made back in June, but anyways….

I have now been using Ubuntu for 2 years.  I started back with Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Drake.  Looking back now I realize how far Ubuntu and Linux in general has come in 2 years.  When I started with Ubuntu, install codecs required a lot more work as some of the repos were not enabled by default like they are now, installing the Nvidia drivers was very tricky.  Now it’s a very easy process all automated by Jockey.  It’s pretty incredible.  And that’s only some of the differences.  There’s a lot more improved aspects such as detection and installation of printers.  Now if you have a supported printer it should be automatically detected and installed.  I remember when Compiz and Beryl existed as separate projects and both were hit or miss if they worked or not.  XGL was almost a must if you wanted to use either.  Now Compiz Fusion has become very stable and works for a lot of people now.

As for my experience it’s been great.  I’ve learned so much in the past 2 years and still learning stuff.  I probably know more about Linux now than I ever knew about Windows back in my Windows days.  I started out knowing just as little as any other new user to the Linux world.  I had a hard time trying to install Java. 😛 When it comes to hardware I always say to do your research first.  If you do your research first and don’t go out and buy random hardware, you almost can’t go wrong.

If you’re a new user, my advice is to stick with it.  It may seem difficult and even frustrating at times, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes like second nature.  Not to mention the gratification that you get when you figure something out.  Linux can be very rewarding. 🙂

I think the future looks bright for Ubuntu and I’m looking forward to continuing to use it.  The advances the Open Source world makes are incredible and very fast.  I’m still amazed by the fact that a lot of people get involved with Open Source and Linux for nothing other than passion.  Ahh, community, that’s incredible. 🙂  And, well, that’s about it.  I’m eagerly looking forward to Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex. 😀

Also as a side note, I hope to get back to blogging soon.  I haven’t posted anything in a while. 🙂

One thought on “2 Years with Ubuntu”

  1. Hahah, yeah. It’s great isn’t it? I started using Ubuntu in February, with Ubuntu 7.10 and I’ve noticed a fair few great changes within the releases (from 7.10 to 8.10 Beta). I’ll never switch back to Windows 🙂

    Oh and, great blog ^_^

    Lee x

Leave a Reply

