Bring Back Download Complete Notification in Firefox

I know the Windows version of Firefox has this activated by default and I know the Linux version used to as well, until some time ago. I’m not quite sure when, but it got disabled by default and I’ve always wondered what happened to it. At first I thought it was removed from Firefox as I couldn’t find any option for it anywhere. But it’s still there, just needs some digging around in good old about:config.

If you want to turn it back on, type in

about:config

in the address bar. In the Filter box type in

browser.download.manager.showAlertOnComplete

Double click on “false” to change it to “true”

Now the next time you download something you will get that little popup notification in the corner of your screen.

about-config.png

notification.png

Yes I like to blog about really oddball stuff 😆

4 thoughts on “Bring Back Download Complete Notification in Firefox”

  1. Hehe, I knew this; I play around in about:config too much. It’s defaulted again on Firefox 3 which is great. 😀

Leave a Reply

