Ubuntu Hardy Heron Alpha 4 Released

Official Announcement

http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/hardy/alpha4

I’m really looking forward to the release of Hardy in April. A lot of things are starting to take shape in Alpha 4. It includes the 2.6.24 kernel. One of the new features is PulseAudio which I’m really looking forward to. The current state of sound on Linux is a mess. PulseAudio will greatly enhance the Linux sound system.

Policykit

alpha4_polkit5.png

With Alpha 4, PolicyKit integration is visible in the administrative user interfaces. PolicyKit makes it possible to run administrative applications as a normal user, and have them get a particular set of extra privileges for certain operations, which allows fine-grained control over user permissions and enhances usability, as well as eliminating the security implications of running the whole application as root.

Transmission

transmission-gtk.png

gnome-bt-download has now been replaced with Transmission.

Brasero

brasero.png

The Nautilus CD burner and Serpentine have both been replaced by Brasero.

World Clock Applet

intlclock.png

The world clock applet has been added

GVFS

nautilus-gvfs.jpg

I’m really excited about this.

Nautilus 2.21.6 in Alpha 4 uses GVFS, the virtual filesystem abstraction layer that’s set to replace the aging GnomeVFS in GNOME 2.22, as its backend. In the near future, GVFS will make it possible to fix shortcomings of Nautilus such as the inability to restore files from trash, pause and undo file operations, and make it possible to escalate user privileges for certain operations using PolicyKit for authentication. It also brings a significant performance boost to many operations.

Yes, at some point in the near future, Nautilus will finally be able to restore items from the trash! πŸ˜€ Not to mention Nautilus will have an increase in performance.

This is only a few of the new features in 8.04. The complete list is on the official announcement.

8.04 is really coming together nicely and I can’t wait for the release in April πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “Ubuntu Hardy Heron Alpha 4 Released”

  1. Hi. This has nothing to do with this post, but I have a question for you.

    I have just installed ubuntu on my Travelmate 6291. I am totally new to linux and am still trying to set it up. THere are currently two items cousing problems. Namely my sound and my Huawei E220 modem.
    Searching for answers to my problems I came across a forum with a solution.

    “Then i found this: https://linuxtechie.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/gettin g-intel-ich8-family-rev-3-sound-card-to-work-in-gutsy/”

    A guy said it worked for him on a acer with linux ubuntu 7.10 thats the same version I am using. I wonder if you still have that article somewhere as I would like to know how to set it up. If you have it I would like you to notify me on my email at mariusbstaveli@gmail.com

    THanks in advance.

  2. Hi. This has nothing to do with this post, but I have a question for you.

    I have just installed ubuntu on my Travelmate 6291. I am totally new to linux and am still trying to set it up. THere are currently two items cousing problems. Namely my sound and my Huawei E220 modem.
    Searching for answers to my problems I came across a forum with a solution.

    “Then i found this: https://linuxtechie.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/gettin g-intel-ich8-family-rev-3-sound-card-to-work-in-gutsy/”

    A guy said it worked for him on a acer with linux ubuntu 7.10 thats the same version I am using. I wonder if you still have that article somewhere as I would like to know how to set it up. If you have it I would like you to notify me on my email at mariusbstaveli@gmail.com

    THanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

