Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron Brings Better MTP Support

9 03 2008

I have a Creative Zen Microphoto mp3 player which uses the MTP protocol. One of the things I missed in Linux was the ability to browse through the files in a file manager. MTP support up till now wasn’t too great. Some programs supported it like Gnomad2, Rhythmbox, and Amarok. But that was about it. If you had an MTP device you couldn’t do too much with it. I have made a request for MTPFS to be packaged. It is now in the Hardy repositories. The beauty of MTPFS is that now you can have the flexibility that any non MTP device has. You can manage all your files right though Nautilus, or any other file manager.

To install it in Hardy all you need to do it

sudo apt-get install mtpfs

Assuming you are part of the FUSE user group (which you should be by default) you should just be able to plug in your player and it should get mounted. If not it should show up under the Places menu. Sometimes it didn’t automatically mount for me.

MTPFS

:D

Actions

Information

10 responses

9 03 2008
nosrednaekim

oh! thats really nice.

I bought a Archos which has a “normal USB device mode” just so I didn’t have to deal with that.

4 04 2008
Caleb

Is there any config that you needed to edit my Zen isnt showing up in Nautilus only works in banshee

5 04 2008
alex

hi!, i got a creative zen vision m 30gb and the mtp is recognized but when i want to open something it appears the error “contains no data flow” and all the files shows 0 bytes. Other thing is that if i go to places and try to open Creative Technology (the name of my MTP) it shows the error «gphoto2://[usb:003,008]/», so i can only open the device with the shortcut on the desktop.

I will appreciate if you can help me to fix this or if you can inform of the bug or tell me where i had to send the bug so this can be fixed.

jeje, good blog by the way,

13 05 2008
simon

Well i have an sony nwz s616f and when i installed mtpfs in places shows that there are usb device but when i double click on it says: “unable to mount location”. Before that ubuntu even doesn’t seen that i connected player. Could anyone suggest me to solve this problem. By the way in old distributions works fine except hardy heron.

8 07 2008
totesz

I have the same problem. In amarok and rhythmbox my nwz-s616f works flawlessly, but I get the same error message as simon when I try to mount it.

16 02 2009
Trysten P

To SIMON and TOTESZ

I see this is an old post but here goes.
What does it say when you open the “read more info” option when the error pops up. sometimes what you have to do is connect it to a windows pc then use the safely remove device option on the taskbar. I have a Sandisk Sansa 4G player. I have to connect it to the computer, wait for it to say connected, then unplug it and replug it back in so that it says writting.. comes up in Rhythmbox perfect. i am using standard drivers if i recall correctly, never installed mtpfs…not sure if i did or not. Hope this helps if not post me a message and ill get back to ya!

Trysten P aka Kalookakoo

19 02 2009
linuxtechie

@Trysten P:
Rhythmbox has it’s own support for accessing MTP devices through libmtp. You don’t need mtpfs to access devices through Rhythmbox. mtpfs gives you the ability to access mtp devices from a file manager which was not possible before.

19 02 2009
Trysten P

@linuxtechie
Thanks for the update :) im rather new to linux so if i got may arse showing…let me know :) I just make sure to post what i can so others can build off of it, because that is usually what i do to solve problems. Thanks again!

Trysten P

20 02 2009
linuxtechie

No problem, and you’re welcome! :D

18 07 2009
kamal

I am using UBUNTU 8.04 and have azen player. I installed mtpfs after reading this thread. my player works with Gnomad but doesnt mount as a device as said here. can anypne help me out?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

